Amazon has confirmed that the Great Indian Festival 2026 will begin in India on October 8. The festive sale will cover smartphones, electronics, TVs, appliances, fashion, beauty, groceries and other categories, making the newly announced date particularly relevant for shoppers planning a major technology purchase.
In its official Great Indian Festival announcement, Amazon India confirmed a 10% instant discount on SBI credit cards, debit cards and EMI transactions. Prime members can get up to 10% extra savings. Amazon is also promising what it describes as its lowest prices of the year across a large selection, although individual product deal prices have not yet been announced.
When does Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026 start?
The Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026 starts on Thursday, October 8. Amazon has not specified an end date in its initial announcement, so shoppers should not assume the sale will run for the same number of days as previous editions.
Amazon's announcement also does not state a separate early-access start time for Prime members. Prime customers are promised up to 10% extra savings, but any claim about a 24-hour early-access window for this year's event should wait for Amazon to confirm it.
Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026 offers confirmed so far
The headline bank offer is a 10% instant discount on eligible SBI credit card, debit card and EMI transactions. Amazon has also confirmed No Cost EMI and exchange offers across categories, plus shopping formats including Blockbuster Deals, Top 100 Deals, Mega Deals and 8 PM Deals.
Other promotional formats named by Amazon include Buy More Save More, Exchange Mela, Sample Mania and Amazon Combos. The exact eligibility, maximum discount and minimum transaction rules can differ by product and payment method, so the final checkout terms will matter more than the headline percentage.
What to expect on smartphones and electronics
Amazon says the sale will include deals and new launches across smartphones, electronics and TVs, alongside appliances and other categories. It has not yet published a complete 2026 device deal list, so specific iPhone, Galaxy, OnePlus, laptop or TV prices circulating before an official reveal should be treated as unconfirmed.
That distinction is especially important this year because flagship prices have moved sharply. Samsung's Galaxy S26 series recently received a major India price increase, while Apple's iPhone 18 Pro series has just gone on sale in India. Festive bank discounts, exchanges and seller markdowns could therefore have a meaningful effect on the final price, but buyers should compare the payable amount rather than the advertised percentage off.
What do Prime members get?
Amazon says Prime members can receive up to 10% extra during the Great Indian Festival. The company has not yet detailed how that extra saving will apply across products, so it is too early to calculate a universal Prime-versus-non-Prime price difference.
Prime members will also continue to receive Prime delivery benefits, and Amazon says its festive Prime Video line-up will be available as part of the membership. Those benefits are separate from product-specific sale discounts.
Should you wait until October 8 to buy a phone or laptop?
If the purchase is not urgent, waiting can be sensible because the event is less than three weeks away and Amazon has explicitly promised technology deals, bank savings and exchange offers. Budget shoppers can meanwhile use Headline Thread's gaming phones under ₹25,000 shortlist as a reference point before sale prices arrive.
Waiting does not guarantee that every device will become cheaper. A useful approach is to note today's actual selling price, not just the MRP, then compare that number with the October 8 price after applying coupons, bank discounts and exchange value. This avoids mistaking a large displayed discount for a genuine price cut.
Are Great Indian Festival 2026 product deals live yet?
Amazon has announced the sale date and broad offer structure, but it has not yet provided enough verified product-level pricing for Headline Thread to recommend specific Great Indian Festival deals. For that reason, this article does not include affiliate product links at this stage.
What happens next
The next useful updates will be Amazon's product-level price reveals, detailed bank-offer terms and any confirmation of Prime early access. Once those arrive, shoppers will be able to compare the sale against competing festive promotions and identify which phone, laptop, TV and electronics discounts are actually worthwhile.
For now, the confirmed information is straightforward: Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026 begins October 8, SBI card and EMI transactions get a 10% instant discount subject to terms, Prime members can receive up to 10% extra, and major technology categories are part of the event.




